“Get away from it all – to leave automobiles, trains and other symbols of our restless civilization far behind in favor of the quiet restful beauty of unspoiled natures”.
- To quote the official 1962 Forest Service guide folder.
The Cascade Mountains are rich in history and lore. These mountains are particularly noted for the countless unspoiled lakes and trout streams; spectacular gorges, waterfalls, miles of hiking trails, and vast forests. Here, lies the picturesque Lake of the Woods Resort nestled in a basin surrounded by towering peaks and timber-covered ridges. Lake of the Woods, a large natural lake surrounded by spruce, fir, and pine growing to the waters edge was discovered by Captain Applegate in 1870 when he was camping nearby with a band of Indians. Seduced by the singing of many birds, he tried to locate them and stumbled onto the lake. Impressed by its serene beauty, he named it Lake o’ the Woods.
As time passed, people began building forest camps and summer homes along the shores of this clear lake. The Lake of the Woods Resort was originally built as a fishing retreat. Great care was taken to situate each structure in such a fashion that the beauty of the lake was not disturbed. The oldest still existing buildings are the General Store (est. 1924) and Cabin 3 (est. 1922). The resort also had a main lodge with a restaurant and bar, sixteen cabins (now 26 cabins), and a marina to the waters edge.
Doug and Becky Neuman purchased the Resort in Fall 1998, after an extensive clean up and a considerable amount of research, the remodel of the Resort began just as the winter snows began to fall. Doug and Becky put together a team of craftsmen, decorators, and dedicated employees to help make their dream of restoring the Resort come true.
The marina complex was the most in need of attention and it received the lions share of the work that first winter. The building was completely rebuilt from the ground to the roof. The dockside tackle shop was re-opened to supply first-timers with the “basics” and the experienced fishermen with state-of-the-art equipment.
A large wrap around deck was added with plenty of space for tables and chairs on the covered deck. It’s one of the most popular spots to enjoy the view on a sunny summer afternoon. The Marina also features over 4,000 square feet of docks and moorage for up to 25 boats.
The cabins were the next challenge. Each cabin was gutted and new floor plans were designed to meet the new codes and a handicapped accessible cabin was added.
It was necessary to completely re-wire and re-plumb every single cabin. With very few exceptions, only the exterior walls were left untouched; however, even those were repaired and painted. Candra Scott and Richard Anderson of San Francisco helped the Neumans to recapture the charm of this rustic mountain retreat. Both Scott and Anderson provided the sources for all of the furnishings in our cabins and, additionally, went to great lengths to provide the right artwork and decor for each of the unique cabins. The attention to detail from the custom draperies, Pendleton blankets on the beds, and the old Life magazines on the night stands still astounds the guests.
The Lodge received a partial make over to the exterior. The Lodge entrance along with the front of the building was made to look more reminiscent of the 1950′s. While the exterior of the lodge was being redone a team of carpenters, electricians, plumbers, and numerous other workers redesigned the kitchen and installed new and refurbished equipment. All the Refrigeration was replaced or rebuilt, and the Bar was separated from the Restaurant by a new wall and custom made double doors. The main lodge was surrounded by the spoils of the forest with walls covered in knotty pine, antlers, and trophies commemorating hunting days reminiscent of the past as well as picture windows reflecting the beauty outside. A vintage WPA mural depicting Native Americans in canoes on the lake. Ceiling fans and antler lighting were brought together to create a spirit of wilderness, casual elegance, and comfort.
The historic General Store was made to resemble the general stores of years gone by with penny candy, old fashioned camp & cookware, plus the down-home hospitality of a nostalgic era. It now stocks up on old fashioned toys and games not seen since your childhood.
The Campgrounds were painstakingly worked on to improve the lay out and restore the natural vegetation indigenous to the area. There are a total of 22 RV sites: 12 full hook up sites (electrical, water, and sewer) and 10 partial hook up sites (electrical and water). The goal was to provide our RV guests the best and most natural setting possible, while providing full hook ups for their convenience. The RV park continues to be upgraded and improved every year by our team of year-round employees.
The Resort re-opened in the summer of 1999. In 2002, the new Marina Grill was added. Two years later, the new Park Model cabins were added to the resort giving it a total of 26 cabins.
In 2008, the resort was purchased by John Doherty who immediately built a new state of the art 36 slip dock system and began a 3-phase lodge remodel by adding a 1600 Sq. Ft. deck. The lodge redesign will include building out the second story of the lodge, moving the bar and lounge as well as meeting rooms upstairs, doubling the size of the existing dining room.
It is Mr. Doherty’s dream to continue the work of the previous owners and establish the Lake of the Woods Resort as the premiere rustic mountain resort in Southern Oregon.